Ingredient profile
Potato Resistant Starch in Sodatide: 100 mg Next to the Trial Doses
Each Sodatide capsule has 100 mg of potato resistant starch. Trials used about 6 to 66 grams a day (Pugh 2023 RS glycemic meta-analysis) (Snelson 2019 RS2 meta-analysis), so one capsule is at most one sixtieth of the lowest studied dose. A 2019 review of 22 trials found "limited cardiometabolic benefit" even at those gram doses (Snelson 2019 RS2 meta-analysis).
Written by the Sodatide editorial teamUpdated
The basics
What is potato resistant starch?
Resistant starch is starch that "resists" digestion in the small intestine. It travels on to the large bowel, where gut bacteria ferment it, much like fiber.
Potato starch in its raw, uncooked form is a well-known source, called type 2 resistant starch. The label calls it "Potato (Resistant Starch) (tuber)" and prints 100 mg per capsule. It is the second ingredient by weight.
The label does not say how the starch was made or what share of it is truly resistant. Potato starch powders vary on that point, so 100 mg of powder may hold less than 100 mg of resistant starch.
| Label name | Potato (Resistant Starch) (tuber) |
|---|---|
| What it is | Solanum tuberosum tuber starch (type 2) · Fermentable starch |
| Position on the label | Printed with its own amount |
| Amount per serving (1 capsule) | 100 mg, printed |
| Amount used in research | About 6-66 g a day in trials |
| Strength of evidence | Limited, at gram doses |
| Why it is used | A starch that escapes digestion and feeds gut bacteria |
| Main caution | Bloating and gas at gram doses; 100 mg is a small fraction of a gram. |
Dose check
How does 100 mg compare with resistant starch trials?
It is far smaller. The lowest trial doses were about 6 grams a day, which is 60 Sodatide capsules. The highest were 66 grams, or 660 capsules.
| Study or measure | Daily resistant starch | Sodatide capsules to match |
|---|---|---|
| One Sodatide capsule | 100 mg | 1 |
| Lowest dose, 2023 review | About 6 g | 60 |
| Lowest dose, 2019 review | 8 g | 80 |
| Whole-potato trial, 2022 | 17.5 g | 175 |
| Highest dose, 2019 review | 66 g | 660 |
At a glance
Resistant starch research by the numbers
Evidence
What did resistant starch trials find for blood sugar and weight?
Mostly small or no effects, even at grams a day. Results looked a little better in people who already had type 2 diabetes.
The 2019 review
Snelson and colleagues pooled 22 trials with 670 people, at 8 to 66 grams a day for 1 to 12 weeks (Snelson 2019 RS2 meta-analysis). Fasting glucose, HbA1c and cholesterol did not change in a meaningful way. A weight drop in type 2 diabetes came from one study with a high risk of bias. Without it, the drop was 0.02 kg. The authors called the benefit "limited".
The 2023 review
Pugh and colleagues looked at 36 trials in type 2 diabetes or prediabetes (Pugh 2023 RS glycemic meta-analysis). Over weeks, type 2 resistant starch lowered fasting glucose and insulin in type 2 diabetes. It did not do so in prediabetes, and HbA1c did not change overall.
A 2022 trial gave 27 adults with metabolic syndrome 17.5 grams a day from whole potatoes (Potato RS 17.5 g/day trial). The researchers credited most changes to the healthy eating pattern as a whole, not the potatoes alone.
From tuber to capsule
Where does the resistant starch in Sodatide come from?
From potatoes, per the label. Starch is washed out of the potato tuber and dried into a fine white powder.
The label does not name a supplier or a resistant starch content. That matters, because trials measured grams of resistant starch, not grams of potato starch.
Some foods also hold resistant starch, such as beans, green bananas and whole grains. Food also brings other fibers with it. The 2025-2030 Dietary Guidelines favor fiber-rich foods over isolated fibers (Dietary Guidelines 2025-2030).

Tolerance
Can resistant starch cause bloating?
Yes, at gram doses. In a 2022 trial of a potato, banana and apple blend at 10 to 30 grams a day, reported effects included bloating, gas, cramping, constipation and diarrhea (Hanes 2022 RS blend trial). One person dropped out after a 30 gram dose.
That trial also found no change in short-chain fatty acids in stool, its main goal. Gas and bloating eased in every group over time, including the control.
At 100 mg, one Sodatide capsule is unlikely to cause these effects on its own. If your digestion changes a lot after starting, stop and note what you ate that week.
Ongoing belly pain, blood in the stool, unplanned weight loss or a big change in bowel habits needs a medical checkup, not a supplement change.
Our view
Is the resistant starch in Sodatide worth it?
As a source of resistant starch, no: 100 mg is too little to match any trial. As part of a daily routine with fiber-rich food, it adds a very small extra.
Pros
- A studied ingredient with a named source
- Amount printed, not hidden in a blend
- Unlikely to cause bloating at this amount
Cons
- At most one sixtieth of the lowest trial dose
- Limited benefit even at gram doses
- Resistant share of the starch not stated
If you have diabetes, talk to your doctor before changing starch or fiber intake, as it can affect blood sugar readings. Our fiber foods versus capsules post compares the options, and the results timeline shows how to judge any change.
All five
What else is in a Sodatide capsule?
Chicory root inulin comes first on the label, then this starch, then a 36 mg blend of three bacteria.
FAQ
Resistant starch in Sodatide FAQ
How much resistant starch is in Sodatide?
Each Sodatide capsule lists 100 mg of potato resistant starch, so a 30-capsule bottle holds 3 grams in total. That whole bottle is half of the lowest daily dose, about 6 grams, used in trials (Pugh 2023 RS glycemic meta-analysis). The label does not state what share of the potato starch is resistant.
Does resistant starch lower blood sugar?
Only modestly, at gram doses, and mainly in type 2 diabetes. A 2023 review found lower fasting glucose and insulin in type 2 diabetes but not prediabetes (Pugh 2023 RS glycemic meta-analysis). A 2019 review found limited benefit overall (Snelson 2019 RS2 meta-analysis). Sodatide's 100 mg has not been tested.
Is potato resistant starch good for weight loss?
The evidence is weak. A 2019 review of 22 trials found no meaningful weight effect once one high-bias study was removed (Snelson 2019 RS2 meta-analysis). Satiety results from three small studies were mixed. Trials used grams a day, far above the 100 mg in Sodatide.
How many Sodatide capsules equal a trial dose of resistant starch?
At least 60 a day. The lowest trial doses were about 6 grams (Pugh 2023 RS glycemic meta-analysis), and each capsule holds 100 mg. The highest doses, 66 grams (Snelson 2019 RS2 meta-analysis), would take 660 capsules. Take only the one capsule a day the label directs.
Can I get resistant starch from food instead?
Yes. Beans, green bananas, whole grains and cooked then cooled potatoes all contain it, alongside other fibers. A 2022 trial gave 17.5 grams a day from whole potatoes (Potato RS 17.5 g/day trial). Food is the practical way to reach gram amounts.
Is resistant starch the same as fiber?
It acts much like fiber. It escapes digestion in the small intestine and is fermented by bacteria in the large bowel. Adults need about 21 to 38 grams of total fiber a day (MedlinePlus dietary fiber), so 100 mg makes a very small contribution.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Plain-language pages built from the bottle label, the order page and linked public health sources such as NIH, FDA and CDC.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by a U.S. retail desk for Sodatide, not by the manufacturer. We are paid a commission when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Sodatide

Chicory root inulin
Sodatide's largest ingredient, 211 mg of chicory inulin, next to the 5 to 12 grams a day used in studies.
Read more
Fiber foods vs capsules
Daily fiber targets, a table of everyday foods by grams, how a capsule compares, and how to add fiber without the bloating.
Read more
Results timeline
How long the ingredient studies lasted, what they measured, and a weekly tracking table to judge Sodatide by day 60.
Read moreLicensed U.S. retail desk for Sodatide
Ready to try Sodatide?
Pick a pack. One capsule a day; every pack covers the whole 60-day window.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day money-back window
- Free U.S. shipping on 3+ bottles
